How To Claim Your Homestead Exemption

If you haven’t claimed your homestead exemption – even if you only recently acquired the property — you are overpaying on your property taxes. This exemption reduces your property taxes by decreasing the taxable – but not the market — value of your owner-occupied home.

There is one form to be used to file for your homestead exemption but the process of filing can vary across counties.  This post will walk you through qualifying for a homestead exemption and how to file in your county. 

What’s a Homestead Exemption?

In Texas, homeowner’s property tax exemptions are known as homestead exemptions. The general homestead exemption is the most common type of homeowner’s property tax exemption. It excludes a specific portion of the home’s taxable value, ultimately reducing your property taxes. 

For instance, if your home was appraised at $250,000 in value and you receive a $25,000 homestead exemption, the taxable value of the property will be decreased by $25,000. This means that you will be taxed as if your home had an appraisal value of $225,000.

The homestead exemption also exempts your home from claims of creditors other than your mortgagee.  If you have debts other than your mortgage, then those creditors can make no claim against your homesteaded property in a court of law.  This is a legacy of frontier days when a man’s home and his horse (today one car) were deemed exempt from claims of creditors.

Am I Eligible for a Homestead Exemption?

To qualify, you must possess an ownership interest in the property and reside in it as your principal residence effective the first day of the year.  But in a new regulation which went into effect September 1, 2021 if you purchased the property after January 1 you can claim the homestead exemption in the year of purchase even if you didn’t live there January 1.  

If your property includes unimproved land, you can claim the part of the land that is used for a residential purpose as part of your homestead, up to 20 acres.  

You can claim only one homestead, so you can’t receive an exemption on any additional properties you own. 

What’s a Homestead Exemption Worth?

Homestead exemption amounts are not standardized. Instead, each taxing unit can choose the amount it will exempt, with some limitations. The Texas Property Tax Code requires all independent  school districts to offer a $25,000 homestead exemption. Any other taxing unit can offer an additional homestead exemption of up to 20% of the property’s appraisal value, but the exemption amount cannot be less than $5,000. This means that if a taxing unit sets a percentage-based exemption, the lowest exemption amount a homeowner can receive is $5,000, even if the chosen percentage of the property’s appraisal value is less than $5,000.

How Do I File for a Homestead Exemption?

You will fill out an application form (Texas Comptroller’s Form 50-114 available here) with some basic information about yourself and your homestead property. You will also need to provide a copy of your Texas driver’s license or Personal Identification Certificate. The address listed on the identification provided must match the address for which you are requesting the exemption. You then must submit the application form to the appraisal district for the county where your property is located between January 1 and April 30. 

Specific application instructions for the counties in which Property Tax Protest provides services are listed below.

Collin County

In Collin County, you must file your application form and the required supporting documentation with the Collin Central Appraisal District office at 250 Eldorado Pkwy, McKinney, TX 75069-8023.

Dallas County

The Dallas Central Appraisal District generates custom homestead exemption application forms for each property. To print a Homestead Exemption Application form, you’ll need to search the appraisals to find your property account. You can search by owner name, address, or account number. 

Once you have located your property, click the blue link on the address to view your account details. On this page, you can then select the “Print Homestead Exemption Form” link to download and print a copy of your application form. You can then submit the application form in person to the appraisal district office at 2949 N. Stemmons Freeway, Dallas or by mail to PO Box 560328 Dallas, Texas 75356-0328.

You may also be eligible to apply online if you are requesting an exemption for the current calendar year. If you are eligible, there will be a “File Homestead Exemption Online” link on the details page for your property. Click this link to apply online.

Denton County

To claim your homestead exemption in Denton County, you can mail or drop off your application form at the Denton Central Appraisal District office at 3911 Morse Street, Denton, TX 76208. You can also email your application to customerservice@dentoncad.com or upload your form by submitting a request for assistance on the appraisal district’s website. When the request form asks how you would categorize your request, you can simply select the “Exemption Forms” option.

Harris County

The Harris County Appraisal District allows you to submit your application for a homestead exemption online. You may also complete, print, and sign a fillable application form and mail or deliver it to the appraisal district’s office at 13013 Northwest Freeway Houston, Texas 77040-6305.

Tarrant County

To apply for a homestead exemption for a property in Tarrant County, you can submit an application form to the Tarrant Appraisal District by mailing it to PO Box 185579 Fort Worth, TX 76181-0579 or delivering it to a dropbox location at 2500 Handley-Ederville Road, Fort Worth, TX 76118. You can also receive free assistance in completing your form by contacting an exemptions specialist at (817) 284-4063. 

Travis County

In Travis County, you can claim your homestead exemption by submitting the application form in person at the Travis Central Appraisal District office, which is located at 850 East Anderson Lane, Austin, TX 78752. You can also file an online application.

What To Do if Your Homestead Exemption Is Denied

When you file for a homestead exemption, the county appraisal district’s Chief Appraiser will review your application and supporting documentation and approve or deny your request. If your claim for a homeowner’s property tax exemption is wrongfully denied, you can file a property tax protest with your local appraisal district. 

Your protest will be heard by your county’s Appraisal Review Board (ARB). The ARB is a group of citizens that is responsible for resolving disputes between property owners and the appraisal district.  It operates as an independent body from the appraisal district. At your property tax protest hearing, you can challenge the denial of your homestead exemption, as well as other issues such as the appraisal value of your home. 

Qualifying for a homestead exemption can decrease your property tax bill. Property Tax Protest has been helping homeowners reduce their property taxes for over 20 years.  Sign up for our services today with zero risk: there’s no up front cost and if there’s no reduction there’s no fee.

Related Blogs

Can I Get a Taxable Value Below My Recent Cost or Below Market?

Yes, it happens more than you would think. Texas’ Constitution prohibits discriminatory practices in assessing taxes. For example, suppose your recently purchased property is assessed at its purchase price but others in the subdivision are not affected.  You may be appraised unequally even at market. (1)

Conversely suppose a recent sale (or sales) in your neighborhood disproportionately affects your property resulting in a higher assessment than your neighbors’.  Or suppose yours is assessed at market while others are assessed at less than market.

One of the least understood arguments for a reduction is Inequality of Appraisal (also sometimes call equal and uniform taxation).  When successful it always results in a value below market.  Inequality is specified in the Tax Code and commonly used for newly acquired commercial properties.  But it is often not used effectively by those protesting residential values even though it applies equally there.

Many agents don’t know how to pursue Inequality because it’s complicated.   At Property Tax Protest we do it successfully more often than not.  And, of course, if there’s no reduction there’s no fee.

There are three criteria for relief under Inequality:

  • the appraisal ratio of the property exceeds by at least 10 percent the median level of appraisal of a reasonable and representative sample of other properties in the appraisal district, or
  • the appraisal ratio of the property exceeds by at least 10 percent the median level of appraisal of a sample of properties in the appraisal district consisting of a reasonable number of other properties similarly situated to, or of the same general kind or character as, the property subject to the appeal; or
  • the appraised value of the property exceeds the median appraised value of a reasonable number of comparable properties appropriately adjusted. 

Two of the three criteria use ratios and one uses value.  All require judgments that must be supported by data; you can’t just make the claim without facts.  These are complex arguments that are over the heads of most homeowners and many agents.  

The law is weighted in your favor; if you prevail on only one of the criteria the decision goes in your favor.  Also, the Texas Supreme Court has ruled that value determined by Inequality prevails over value determined by market (2).  Thus, Inequality results in a taxable value below market.

Why bother?  Because left unprotested, your most recent value can become the floor for subsequent increases.  A successful protest this year raises the district’s bar for next year (3).  We can save you money for years to come by using all the tools available.

(1) “…it is unfair, and constitutionally prohibited, to require one taxpayer to pay a tax based on market values if other taxpayers are paying a rate that is lower than the market value of their properties.” Texas Supreme Court, Weingarten Realty v. Harris County Appraisal District.

‍
(2) “If a conflict exists between taxation at market value and equal and uniform taxation, equal and uniform taxation must prevail.”  Ibid.

‍
(3)    [Effective January 1, 2020] . . . In the next tax year in which the property is appraised (following a successful protest), the chief appraiser may not increase the appraised value of the property unless the increase by the chief appraiser is reasonably supported by clear and convincing evidence when all of the reliable and probative evidence in the record is considered as a whole. . . . The burden of proof is on the chief appraiser to support an increase in the appraised value of property under the circumstances described by this subsection.  Texas Property Tax Code, Section 23.01(e)

What Are My Chances of Success:

What Are My Chances of Success:In recent years about 60% of the homeowners who protested their values obtained reductions.  The others include many whose values were already at or below market – and therefore had no case to present to the Appraisal Review Board — and many who failed to appear at their scheduled hearings.  Those who filed a protest and actually appeared with good data had a higher success rate than those who had no supporting data.  With good data and a professional approach to the ARB your chances of success should be closer to 90%.To sign up, simply return these two Documents. Send no money.

Property Tax Rates: A Primer and SB 2

Local taxing authorities (cities, counties, hospital districts, school districts) must publish certain information and schedule public hearings before approving a tax rate.  Senate Bill 2 currently (Spring 2017) being debated in the Legislature will affect how that unfolds.  Here’s a primer:

Proposed Tax Rate:

This is the rate taxing authorities estimate they need to cover their budgeted expenses for the following year.  If taxable values increase year to year, a lower rate can generate the same revenues but if the rate is not reduced the unchanged rate can generate increased revenues from higher taxable values.  Taxing authorities can then claim they didn’t increase taxes.  (They didn’t; the appraisal districts increased values.)

Effective Tax Rate:

This is the rate that would generate the same revenue as last year.  If appraisal districts have increased taxable values year to year then a lower Effective Tax Rate will generate the same revenues as in the prior year.

Rollback Tax Rate:

A taxing authority may not exceed the Rollback Tax Rate – currently 8% but the Legislature is currently (March 2017) considering a reduction to 4% — which is the amount by which total tax revenues – not rates — can exceed the prior year’s revenues without allowing its voters to petition for a lower rate.  All taxing districts are affected except school districts which must hold an automatic rollback tax rate election in November if the rollback rate is exceeded.  For the others – city, county, hospital district, etc. – a rollback petition is required and the rollback election takes place in a month other than November, when most voters turn out to vote.

Senate Bill 2This bill would reduce the Rollback Tax Rate to 4% and would automatically trigger a rollback election in November.  The effect on local taxing authorities would be immediate and would encourage them to keep total tax collection increases below 4%.  In a market of increasing values this means a lower tax rate applied to an increased tax base.But would limiting total tax collection increases to 4% benefit taxpayers?  In a growing market like DFW, where population growth continues to put demands on local authorities, a 4% cap on tax collections could result in less services just when more services are required.  As Texas continues to attract people moving from other states municipal and county services may be unable to keep pace.  That’s why local governments are almost unanimously opposed to the 4% cap in SB 2.The opposing argument is that if demand for services requires total tax revenues to increase more than 4% then taxing authorities should be required to justify the increase to their voters.According to the Texas Comptroller’s Biennial Property Tax Report school taxes generate 54 percent of local property taxes statewide.  So SB 2 addresses less than half the property taxes paid by Texas owners.To sign up, simply return these two Documents. Send no money.